top of page

LABELS ARE FOR JARS. NOT FOR PEOPLE.

Well. If you would be telling me back 4 years ago while I was in the darkest time of my life and start of my recovery that I was going to be an award-winning mental health blogger. I probably wouldn’t believe you at all and would tell you to clear off in a polite manner.


I was fighting mental illness undiagnosed since I was 14. I got told I had suspected Social Phobia Disorder & Depression when I was 17 but I wasn’t allowed any medication as I was under 18 so they just made me go to camhs and I’m not being ungrateful at all but they just said it was a teenager phrase that I’d grow out off and didn’t offer me any support as it was just “hormones” then I finally got diagnosed properly in 2017 at 20 years old.


About 7 years, thinking I was going crazy inside my brain and people just blamed it on my hormones as I was a teenager and said it was a phrase I needed to get out of. Which made me feel so more alone that I wasn’t being taken seriously as I was just a 14 year old and they just blamed it on the teenage years.


This isn’t a hateful rant to the NHS as they are doing an amazing job with low funding but I just wish I had some support when I kept going back with the same symptoms and maybe I would be better?


But who knows?


I was too scared to talk as I knew that it would be blamed on hormones as I was a teenage girl and of course periods.


I wish I kept going back and fighting for a second opinion but at that time I just didn’t have the energy or confidence to get my opinion across and shout that I needed help and support.


I used to be so ashamed of being ill. I used to blame and punish myself for feeling low and crying till 2am on school nights as I didn’t want to go to school as I felt so low.


You wouldn’t have been stuck in a house for 365 days at seventeen years old just because of hormones, would you? I know I’m no doctor, but I knew something was wrong.


Since finally being diagnosed with depression and social phobia disorder I feel like a rock has been lifted and that I’m finally being listened too and being taken seriously.


I used to be so quiet and shy as I knew I’d get a weird reaction if I told people I was battling depression and social phobia.


But now, I’m like if you can’t take my bad days you don’t deserve my awesome days.



I never had a voice then as stigma and my illness took over my voice.


Now it’s my time to make sure mental illness and stigma what is attached to mental health knows that I’m the boss and I’ve got my voice back and it’s not going anywhere even when I’m having low days.


It’s not the best news I’ve ever had, and I was upset and angry for 2 days when I got told my diagnosis, but you know what?


I’m happy that I’ve got my diagnosis because I knew, that I was right, and everyone was wrong. I knew what I was facing, and I knew what I was battling and I knew my recovery is going to be around the corner one day.


I’ve gained so much confidence since speaking out that I am ill, and I’m not scared of the stigma anymore.


I’ve gained so many friends in the mental health blogging community.


I’m writing for charities and back when I was 17, I thought I had no hope and I thought that I wasn’t good enough to be writing about a subject what is so close to my heart.


But I am good enough.


I’m speaking up for more people who need their voices back.



In the Aldridge/Brownhills community, I’m finally speaking out in my own hometown about mental health and it feels bloody amazing!


I’ve had relapses in my journey.

I’ve had bad times and good times.

I’ve had tears and smiles.

I’ve had horrible thoughts and happy thoughts.

I’m not a victim of mental illness. I battle it, yeah, but it isn’t me.

I define me. No illnesses will define me.

I’ve had times where I hated my body and myself but times where I love my body and myself.


Last week was so intensive and bad, I thought I was going insane in my head and I didn’t want to fight anymore.


But this week is a new week and I am determined to make It a good week.



But you know what?


That’s completely fine. As It’s okay not to be okay!


Stigma use to get me down so much and use to make me feel ashamed.


But when someone does say something nasty to me about my illness, I don’t listen to them as they probably aren’t educated enough and that’s upsetting really as they could be going through with it, and they wouldn’t even know. I tend to educate them and they thank me later!



I’m a stigma fighter and proud.

I’m a mental health advocate and I’m so bloody proud to be one.

I’m Shannon and I bloody define me!

Labels are for jars. Not for people.


Talking does save lives. I’m the living proof that it does even on my bad days.


Big thank you to Samaritans for last week being my shoulder to cry on when times were so exhausting at 4am when everyone was asleep.


Big thank you to my family for looking after me when I was so low and I didn’t want to talk about what I was feeling but you managed to talk to me and you helped.


Big thank you to my Nan for noticing the symptoms that I was getting worse and booking me that most important doctor appointment last Friday what saved my life.


Big shout out to my amazing doctor! Dr Flenley as he finally listened to me and I probably wouldn’t have been here today without his kind words and actually helped me. He’s a credit to Aldridge and Portland Medical Practice.



We need more doctors like him!


Till next time.


Love, Shannon Diana x


Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
bottom of page